Administrator looking at medical record

A privacy awareness message from your local chapter chair  

The month of May brings not just the beginning of spring in much of Canada, but Privacy Awareness Week (May 10-14)! In addition to raising awareness, this is an opportunity to inform citizens of their privacy rights. As a privacy specialist myself, when asked the question, “What do you do?” I get to answer: “I’m part of a team that works to safeguard the personal health information of my family and yours—of all the citizens of our province!”

I share more of my passion here about the important role that health information professionals play in the safeguarding of personal health information.

Wishing everyone a great spring,
Michael McGill, CHIM, CIAPP-C
Saskatchewan Chapter Chair

The SK chapter is an integral part of the HIM community, bringing continuing education, networking events and activities, professional development support, and communication services to CHIMA members in Saskatchewan.

The chapter is one of eight across the country. It’s led by a chapter committee consisting of volunteer members, including HIM professionals holding a professional designation from the Canadian College of Health Information Management or those actively working to join it, and reports to Nancy Haugen, Chair of the Chapter Advisory Council.

Chapter committee

Chapter chair

Committee members

Frequently asked questions

The SK chapter meets online on a monthly basis.

There are currently two (2) openings for new committee members with SK.

Chapter committee members are responsible for attending committee meetings and actively participating in committee discussions. They must work effectively as part of the team to host in-person chapter events (typically once per year) and online webinars for chapter members.

Being part of a CHIMA chapter committee offers an opportunity to network with colleagues and provide valuable feedback that helps shape the health information profession in Canada.

Chapter committee members agree to serve for a term of three (3) years.