CHIMA Awards: An evolution to re-invest in members

CHIMA Awards: An evolution to re-invest in members

The CHIMA Awards program celebrates the excellence, dedication, and commitment of members who have significantly contributed to enriching CHIMA and the health information profession.

The program is funded through CHIMA’s endowment fund. An endowment fund holds investments in perpetuity as a source of income. CHIMA’s endowment fund is publicized in the annual accountability reports published at the time of the Organization’s annual general meetings (AGMs).

In 2022, the addition of the Chapter reserve funds to the endowment fund was proposed to enable more opportunities to re-invest in members through the CHIMA Awards program. This model follows the system adopted by notable academic institutions across the country. CHIMA’s endowment fund provides a perpetual grant from investment earnings, is restricted and governed by the Organization’s board of directors, and is audited annually. The funds are segmented by chapter, and the benefit of these funds is directed back to membership within each chapter.

Future of Health Information Award

The new Future of Health Information Award—announced in 2023—recognizes academic excellence and passion for the profession. This award was borne out of discovery from advisory meetings and chapter consultations that revealed members’ desire to acknowledge students and recent graduates for their role in securing the future of health information.

Starting this year, outstanding students from College-accredited health information fundamentals, HIM diploma, and HIM degree programs will be eligible for nomination by faculty for their academic contributions and potential to positively impact the future of the profession.

Prizes will include a one-year CHIMA Annual Team Learning Subscription (ATLS), a certificate of accomplishment, a cash prize of $250 from the endowment and other features.

Chapter Legacy Awards

The Chapter Legacy Awards are given in the name of influential contributors (Georgina Williams and Kathy Marcotte). These yearly awards existed before the provincial associations integrated into CHIMA in 2016 and are determined through chapter selection committees in Saskatchewan and Newfoundland and Labrador.

These efforts are made to connect the communities of health information professionals in Canada and align with our value of putting people first.

CHIMA would like to thank the team who worked toward the evolution of our awards:

Lindsey Page (lead) – BCYT

Angie Kinrade – BCYT

Kristin Krahn – MBNU

Jennifer Currie – NSPE

Ana Ruas – NSPE

For more information on prizes, eligibility, and application for the CHIMA Awards program, please visit

Related Articles